Piraeus University of Applied Sciences is one of the fifteen Greek independent and self-administrated Applied Sciences Universities and is a “University of Applied Sciences” of the “Greek National System of Highest Education”. Degrees from Universities of Applied Sciences, as well as those of the rest of the Greek Universities, are the only degrees of Highest Education in the country, recognized by the Greek Government and the EU. Thus, “Universities” & “Universities of Applied Sciences” graduates may continue their studies at postgraduate level, under exactly the same conditions. The graduate programs offered by Piraeus University of Applied Sciences draw the attention of the management of a widely competitive and accepted by the market variety of organizations.

Active students attain a number of over 12.000 people, as annually 1.500 – 2.000 students are enrolled in each of the Faculties. The Institution’s operations are maintained by its academic and administrative staff, which consists of more than 300 people. The permanent Academic Staff is encountered to 160 Professors. The teaching staff is enriched with approximately 300 part time professors. The academic operation is supported by 160 permanent members of the administration staff. There are around 25 Laboratories in Engineering School and 10 Laboratories in the School of Business and Economics that support the teaching and research and development activities. These operations are also supported by approximately 30 additional persons that are engaged in several Research and Development (R&D) programs that are funded by the Greek Government and European Union.

Piraeus University of Applied Sciences consists of the total of Nine (9) Departments, grouped in two (2) Schools:

School of Engineering (SENG)

  • Automation Engineering Department

  • Civil Engineering Department

  • Computer Systems Engineering Department

  • Electrical Engineering Department

  • Electronic Engineering Department

  • Mechanical Engineering Department

  • Textile Engineering Department

School of Business and Economic (SBE)

  • Accounting and Finance Department

  • Business and Administration Department

    • Business Administration (two divisions: 1. Business Administration 2. Marketing)

    • Tourism and Hospitality Management

There are also twenty five (25) Postgraduate Programs at a Master’s level. Some of them are autonomous and are governed by the Piraeus University of Applied Sciences (Technological Education Institute of Piraeus) rules. There are also postgraduate programs that operate in collaboration with several Universities in the European area and the United States. The Postgraduate Programs offered by the two schools are:

School of Engineering (SENG)

  • Master in Automation of Production and Services (Automation Engineering Department)

  • Master In New Technologies in Shipping & Transport (Automation Engineering Department)

  • Management and Optimization of Energy Systems (Electrical Engineering Department)

  • Networking and Data Communications (Electronic Engineering Department)

  • Information and Communication Technologies for Education (Electronic Engineering Department)

  • Internetworked Electronic Systems (Electronic Engineering Department)

  • Applied Information Systems (Computer System Engineering Department)

  • MA in Education Sciences & Learning Technologies (Computer System Engineering Department)

  • Novel Textile Materials & Technologies in Fashion Design (Textile Engineering Department)

  • Master in Energy Systems: a) Energy Systems Design b) Renewable Energy Technologies (Mechanical Engineering Department)

  • Energy and Environmental Investments (Mechanical Engineering Department)

  • Advanced Industrial and Manufacturing Systems (Mechanical Engineering Department)

  • Seismic and Energy Retrofit in Structure and Sustainable Development (Civil Engineering Department)

  • Policies and Applied Methods for the Protection of the Environment (Civil Engineering Department)

  • Master in Management in Construction (Civil Engineering Department)

  • Master in Structural Design and Construction Management (Civil Engineering Department)

School of Business and Economic (SBE)

  • Master in Business Administration – MBA with divisions (Marketing and Communication, e – business, Supply Chain Management and Transportation, Executive) (Business Administration Department)

  • International Business and Management (Accounting and Finance Department)

  • Master in Business Administration – MBA in collaboration with the University of Kentucky (Accounting and Finance Department)

  • Master in Health and Social Welfare Services (Business Administration Department)

  • Educational Technology and Human Resources Development (Business Administration Department)

  • Master in Public Economics and Policy (Accounting and Finance Department)

  • Master in Accounting and Finance (Accounting and Finance Department)

  • Management of Educational Organizations (Business Administration Department)

  • Public Administration – Public Management (Business Administration Department)

Finally, Piraeus University of Applied Sciences offers PhD studies in collaboration with several Universities in Greece or in the European region.